Do sonic debuffs stack?


Carnifax

 

Posted

If I have a sonic controller, will Sonic Siphon and Disruption Field stack?
If a sonic blaster then attacks this debuffed mob, will his debuffs also stack?

Do sonic blaster attacks alone stack on each other?

Anyone know what the -res cap is?


 

Posted

Yes to all of those stacking (the only non-stacking sonic is sonic siphon which doesn't stack withitself but does with all other -res)

Players and critters have a minimum Resistance of -300%.



@Catwhoorg "Rule of Three - Finale" Arc# 1984
@Mr Falkland Islands"A Nation Goes Rogue" Arc# 2369 "Toasters and Pop Tarts" Arc#116617

 

Posted

Powers of a different name stack. (i.e. -res from Howl doesn't stack with another use of Howl)


The plastic tips at the end of shoelaces are called aglets. Their true purpose is sinister.
--The Question, JLU

 

Posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derangedpolygot View Post
Powers of a different name stack. (i.e. -res from Howl doesn't stack with another use of Howl)
This is incorrect, the -res from Sonic Attacks stacks from the same powers. Given a Sonic/Sonic Defender, for example, the only power with -res that won't stack with itself is Sonic Siphon (since it's impossible for Disruption Field to stack with itself since it's a toggle).


@macskull, @Not Mac | XBL: macskull | Steam: macskull | Skype: macskull
"One day we all may see each other elsewhere. In Tyria, in Azeroth. We may pass each other and never know it. And that's sad. But if nothing else, we'll still have Rhode Island."

 

Posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by macskull View Post
This is incorrect, the -res from Sonic Attacks stacks from the same powers. Given a Sonic/Sonic Defender, for example, the only power with -res that won't stack with itself is Sonic Siphon (since it's impossible for Disruption Field to stack with itself since it's a toggle).
I believe it USED to be true though. I remember a debate on that very subject a while back.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dechs Kaison
See, it's gems like these that make me check Claws' post history every once in a while to make sure I haven't missed anything good lately.

 

Posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClawsandEffect View Post
I believe it USED to be true though. I remember a debate on that very subject a while back.
I'm pretty sure they always stacked. It was just a widely held opinion on the boards that most debuffs wouldn't self-stack based on the ones that don't.

Basically since Blast debuffs are so short in duration anyway they will tend to stack. But any debuff powers in secondaries which have a longer duration probably won't (like Acid Arrow, Poisons debuffs and Sonic Siphon).

All debuff auras & patches will always have the "does not stack from caster" flag to prevent them multi-debuffing the enemy (as they tend to reapply the debuff very quickly, over and over again). But two separate debuff patches (like 2 Tar Patches from the one player) will stack with each other too as they count as 2 different casters (the Tar Patches are the casters, not the player directly).


 

Posted

I realize I am necroing this thread, but I have a question in regards to sonic stacking. If I have 2 alts following me around (Defenders...too cheap to buy controller sets for other accounts ) both having Sonic primary is it possible to have them both stack disruption field on me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by macskull View Post
the only power with -res that won't stack with itself is Sonic Siphon (since it's impossible for Disruption Field to stack with itself since it's a toggle).
Is this simply referring to the same caster since a toggle is only activated/deactivated or does this mean it doesn't stack from two different casters? If it doesn't stack I'll probably go with dark for the second alt.


 

Posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deep Rootz View Post
I realize I am necroing this thread, but I have a question in regards to sonic stacking. If I have 2 alts following me around (Defenders...too cheap to buy controller sets for other accounts ) both having Sonic primary is it possible to have them both stack disruption field on me? Is this simply referring to the same caster since a toggle is only activated/deactivated or does this mean it doesn't stack from two different casters? If it doesn't stack I'll probably go with dark for the second alt.
Since they would be from different casters, they will stack just fine.


 

Posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Had Matter View Post
I realize I am necroing this thread, but I have a question in regards to sonic stacking. If I have 2 alts following me around (Defenders...too cheap to buy controller sets for other accounts ) both having Sonic primary is it possible to have them both stack disruption field on me? Is this simply referring to the same caster since a toggle is only activated/deactivated or does this mean it doesn't stack from two different casters? If it doesn't stack I'll probably go with dark for the second alt.
You could stack 7 of them on you if you could find enough Sonic Defenders willing to do it.

Actually, you could have a virtually unlimited number stacked on you if you could find enough Sonic Defenders, well, at all. I don't think they need to be on your team to put it on you.

More than 10 would be pointless though.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dechs Kaison
See, it's gems like these that make me check Claws' post history every once in a while to make sure I haven't missed anything good lately.